Everyday Feels, Wedding

Wedding Bells for Real

I’m back from my hiatus.

The time has ticked past the flurry of long, long days. Now, we’ve arrived at a point in time where I’m happy to announce (again) that our wedding is on for next year in 2018. The venue has been booked and the deposits have been made, so God willing, things will go smoothly this time.

Over the course of our engagement, I know we may have gained much more fans as a couple, mostly taking form in distant, non-immediate family members. I have personally received and felt welcoming embraces and smiles of joy from his side of the family whom I’ve not known previously. I’m more than glad that people even as prime as his grandaunts warmly embrace me into their arms, into their families with open hearts. His aunts feel comfortable chatting with me even about the most random of things. Well, not forgetting his cousins, who weren’t all that hard to get along with because it so happens, we were all born and streamed into the same radio frequency. Most importantly, it’s an even greater pleasure to feel that people accept me for who I am, and not who they want me to be. Because all my life, the people (or person) closest to me, who was supposed to nurture me and guide me from childhood to adulthood has been trying to change/manipulate every part of me to his preference. He has even tried to sabotage my relationship. I can’t even continue sharing about the things he has done. Let God only hold the bitter and terrible truths for me.

But alas, we both survived hardships and big fat lemons that were tossed our way. We held our fort bravely, and here we are today counting down to our wedding.

Amongst the joyous news here, I know there’s a hint of bitterness lurking behind these strings of words. This is mostly my realising that I don’t need to remain prisoned by the opinions of someone (or people) who don’t have my best interests at heart, who have other deeper concerns that enveloped only their own interests at the expense of others. Even if this other person is a close and immediate family member.

I don’t need more words to point you in the direction of the person I’m referring to. It’s beyond obvious.

In all this bitterness, and bleakness, I know one day the skies will clear its grey and pave a way for blue. We don’t have to be gloomy, just because we don’t get what we want. Or need. Although I’m still bitter over that person cancelling our wedding that was meant to happen July last year, I do feel that there had been so may instances and enlightening reasons for why things were delayed. For the better. 

It’s okay that we had to start a new life together almost a year later. But surely, without this extra delayed year, we wouldn’t feel like all the people who knew us, care for us and love us would be completely behind us celebrating our union like its their own. Without this extra time gap, we wouldn’t have won the hearts of the people we thought didn’t really matter. And in this time, we have received more love and support than we ever expected. It warms my heart how people have been showing so much excitement, keen interest and eagerness to attend our wedding next year. It really does.

In all this, life has reminded me yet again that things happen for a reason. There’s a hikmah behind every occurrence that is seemingly pessimistic, or negative. Allah never forgets us.

The past weekend was a glimpse of how joyous and exciting our wedding event would be like next year, with the people we call family so eager to honour our celebration with their presence, prayers and love. That’s all that matters. Blessings are what actually counts towards happiness in our lives. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

